Today marks 1000 days sober

Kam Johal
3 min readApr 16, 2021

--

1000 days ago today, I decided to quit alcohol cold-turkey, why?

Because I was sick and tired of feeling sick and tired!

I was about to sell a large chunk of my businesses, my twins were about to graduate and it was something that I had always wanted to do. I didn’t know at the time what I was going to do after the businesses were sold, but I did know that I didn’t want to take the same me into my next venture.

Was I an Alcoholic?

I don’t know the answer to that, but I do know that I could do so much more without it than I could with it. And even though I did not know exactly what I wanted to do at the time, I had some experiences of not drinking in the past. Sometimes a few weeks and other times months, and what would transpire was a more productive, more relaxed me. I would to the gym more, my meetings would be more productive and there would be less drama in my life.

So on 21st July 2018, I quit cold turkey after one beer at a business meeting in London, just like that!!

I didn’t go to Alcoholics Anonymous (AA)or seek any other ‘recovery’ or treatment, I simply cleared my diary for two weeks and stayed at home most of the time, took supplements and exercised slept a lot and attended a family wedding at the end of two weeks without any real issues.

Why did I decide to quit?

Because alcohol was no longer a friend as it had been for 25years of my adult life, it was getting in the way of me living my best life. It had begun to impact my life in negative ways both business and personal, on the outside I was very successful and had it all, but on the inside, I knew I could be much. So just like friends that no longer make you want to be a better person I knew it had to go, it’s a shame it took me so long to realise that.

Why no Alcoholics Anonymous?

Any organisation that says I have a disease that I will never be cured of and I must go around telling the world saying “I’m an ex this or that” or that “I’m still in recovery 12 years” after I’ve removed something from my life as someone who’s quit through AA did last week is not for me. Me being me, I’m not one for dwelling on a past as I know that affects my life negatively. I learn from my mistakes and I move on. I don’t need people in an AA meeting bringing up my past and telling me I’m the same person I was.

Life after 1000 days!!

I can honestly say it’s better in every single way, even though there have been challenges in areas I did not contemplate.

>My family relationships are at an all-time high. They didn’t come automatically, but we’re there now.

> My health is so much better. In fact, I’ve lost around 10 kilos in weight. I was diagnosed with an enlarged prostate and possible cancer 9 months after I quit. However, none of these had anything to do with past alcohol consumption. As a result of not drinking, I’ve dealt with these issues maturely and calmly, and today two years after the diagnosis I’m both cancer and operation free.

> I’ve achieved much more than I would have in business. I launched a coaching business in which I’m able to bring my knowledge to help others and I have several new businesses in the field of information technology and property.

> I’ve been presenting a weekly television show for KTV Global, Sky TV since September 2020

> I’ve just started presenting a weekly breakfast show on the same channel

> I’ve landed a role in a Bollywood Movie that releases in September 2021, whilst also been offered another role in the very near future.

> I’m so much happier in myself and feel the future is much brighter than I did 1000 days ago.

I hope this piece inspires you to change a negative habit in your life. A habit that is holding you back because without doing that, you will never know how good you can be and how many peoples lives you could impact positively.

--

--

Kam Johal

Coaching Reimagined | I want to help you create the best life you can possibly have. I’m not here to create dependency, I’m here to get you to the next level!